The official website of the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council

The Council

In July 2012, the Resources and Ecosystems Sustainability, Tourist Opportunities, and Revived Economies of the Gulf Coast States Act (RESTORE Act) established the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council (Council), which includes the governors of the States of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas and the Secretaries of the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, the Army, Commerce, Homeland Security, of the Interior, and the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The Gulf States recommended and President Obama appointed the Secretary of Commerce as the Council’s first Chair. In March 2016, the Secretary of Agriculture became the Council Chair, and in January 2018 the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency became the Council Chair.  

More Info